top of page

4 Wonders of Mexico

Huasteca potosina

The Huasteca Potosina is a region located in the state of San Luis Potosi, made up of 20 municipalities. The Huasteca has been key in different moments of Mexican history, which is why it has a rich cultural history. The special thing about this region are the desert and jungle ecosystems, since it has a lot of flora and fauna with incredible landscapes. It has the Tamul waterfall, the Sótano de las Golondrinas, Laguna de la Media Luna and even has the Tamtoc Archaeological Site. In the Huasteca there is El Zacahuil Huasteco, which is a giant tamale, which is made with broken dough and is usually pork or chicken, and can feed up to 50 people

Hierve el Agua

Hierve el agua is a system of petrified waterfalls, formed by calcium carbonate.

The waterfalls are of natural origin and were formed long ago by the runoff of water with high mineral content. It is located 70 km from the city of Oaxaca. The water has a temperature of approximately 24 degrees Celsius and has a waterfall of 30 meters high and another of 12 meters high. The special thing about the boiling water is that the spring that gave rise to the waterfalls also gave rise to the pool that functions as a natural spa for its thermal waters.

Islas Marieta

The Marieta Islands are located 27 km from Nuevo Vallarta, on the coast of Nayarit. They are two small islands in an archipelago formed by two islets of volcanic origin, considered a Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO. The special thing about these islands is that they have a lot of flora and fauna, and have a "Hidden Beach", which is the main attraction of the place, but to get here you have to go through a rocky tunnel swimming approximately 45 meters.

Reserva de la Biosfera Mariposa Monarca

This reserve has been recognized by UNESCO as a Natural World Heritage Site since November 2000 and is located in the state of Michoacán.

It has forests of oyamel, pine, oak and cedar, 184 species of vertebrates, of which 4 are amphibians, 6 reptiles, 118 birds and 56 mammals. The special thing about this marvelous biosphere is the migration, hibernation and reproduction zone of the monarch butterfly.

These butterflies have an impressive life cycle and their metabolism serves to protect them from predators. It was recognized by UNESCO because it protects key monarch butterfly hibernation sites and because it has ecosystem services that provide carbon sequestration and recharge of aquifers, which influence strong humidity and help the fluvial network generating microhabitats for the fauna that inhabits the area.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page